Riga – very first impressions

I arrived at Riga exactly on the New Year day. It was 10pm and the weather was a little bit chilly. But soon I was delighted by warm-hearted greetings from many Riga people. One Riga guy kindly offered me some help when I was standing outside the apartment and did not know how to contact the landlord since my phone has no internet. My roommates were so kind and we promptly became friends, exchanged contacts and they introduced me tons of interesting places in Riga. And the most cheerful place – Hieroglifs International, where my internship resides. Our company is like a small international family with colleagues from different parts of the planet. We have been having very nice time and memories together.

What is my most impression in Riga? It is doubtlessly ancient architecture. Sometimes after work, I walked along the streets in the city center and fully enjoyed the special Riga vibe and antique beauty of the old buildings. However, I have not visited many places in Riga yet, except the old town. I extremely love those narrow walking paths in the Old Riga, the cozy decoration of many restaurants there. And its antique beauty is inspiring. I felt like I was getting lost in a real medieval town. Unfortunately my phone ran out of battery so I could not take so many photos but the visit was very enjoyable.

10998716_964991930179792_1515369822_o

Another surprise Riga brings to me is Asian-styled products in the supermarket. They are selling numerous Asian groceries, ingredients and culinary stuffs. Not only cheese and potatoes as I had imagined before 🙂 Riga people seem to be a bit cold and introvert (I did not mean any negative thoughts) but in fact, everyone is very friendly and open-minded. I was very impressed when seeing some old people trying to learn English because they love travelling and they just simply want to enrich their knowledge.

Though I am from other side of the planet, winter cannot freeze my excitement to explore the city. This week I am planning to go to some other famous places and I will absolutely share my experience out here. Hopefully everyone will enjoy this lovely city as I do 🙂

🙂

Leave a comment